A bit late…


I’ve been really busy for the past week getting ready for my upcoming vacation/relocation.  Because of this I am updating today on an event I attended over the weekend over at Respectable’s Street.  It was an art exposition by a local group of artists called The Pupil’s Collective.  Their website is in progress, so I figured I’d do a post displaying some of the work of these talented artists.  If you want to contact them after reading this post, you can e-mail them at pupilscollective@gmail.com.

So remember that big ol’ ugly torn up building that used to be Spanky’s, and how it haunts the memories of your adolescence? No? Well it’s gone now anyway… Where it was standing is now a vacant lot, boxed in by the railroad tracks to the east and the long wall of Respectable’s to the west. Walking up to the club in the past week or two, the first thing one would notice is Eddie. As far as I can tell, Eddie is not a member of the Pupil’s Collective, but has been contracted to single-handedly paint a rather large mural on that big white wall.

I haven’t seen the wall since that night, but he said he had already been working on it for 4 or 5 days. I don’t know whether or not it is done yet, but I’ll be sure to put up a picture of the final product when I see it. Now, let’s take it inside…


Denise Rodriques and Josh Suprenant were sitting at the table just inside of the door, working on masks. Words can’t even do it justice.


Potential Shit Ton of Funk costume pieces? I hope so…

In the other corner, we have Moses Morales and Jessica Alvarez, a pair of 2D artists compiling their efforts on a few paintings:

Unfortunately, I lack the sufficient photos to display the range and variety of work in this booth. Moses is somewhat under-represented here. Hopefully I can mend this boo boo in a future post? (Artists: SEND ME YOUR WORK! greaternumbers@gmail.com)

Up on the stage were Adam Sheetz and Adolfo Baciagalupo, getting their hands in all types of cookie jars.

There were hundreds of pairs of glasses, broken and scattered, lying around various parts of the stage. I couldn’t help but notice that more just kept getting brought up!

I wish I had gotten a closer picture of the cigarette packets that Adam had re-painted, complete with eyes and teeth. Check out that Iggy Pop portrait.

Across the stage, Adolfo had assembled a curtain of 12″ vinyls that he had painted over with popular pictures and designs.

I must stress, this update does very little justice to the wide variety of work on display that night. If you want larger pictures, you can view/click Slideshow #4 on the ARTISTS page.

If you wish to contact the Pupils Collective for any reason, you can e-mail them at pupilscollective@gmail.com .

About Wang Tchung

Greater Numbers is a South Florida arts movement fronted by a hip hop trio of the same name.
This entry was posted in Art, Live, Photos, Recommended. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

